MCSA office bearers selected

By | 2019-06-05T12:36:54+00:00 May 31st, 2019|News|

During the 129th Annual General Meeting of the Minerals Council South Africa, board members elected new office bearers for 2019 / 2020.

Mxolisi Mgojo, CEO of Exxaro Resources, has been re-elected as president. Steve Phiri, CEO of Royal Bafokeng Platinum, Andile Sangqu, executive head of  Anglo American South Africa and Neal Froneman, CEO of Sibanye-Stillwater have been re-elected as vice-presidents.

In addition, Zanele Matlala, CEO of Merafe Resources has been elected as vice-president of the Minerals Council. Matlala joined the Merafe board as an independent non-executive director in 2005 becoming the Chief Financial Officer in October 2010. She was appointed chief financial officer in June 2012. She is also a non-executive director of Dipula Income Fund, Stefanutti Stocks Holdings, RAC Limited and Old Mutual Investment Group Holdings.

She was previously employed as non-executive director by Kagiso Media, an independent non-executive director by Gold Reef Resorts, group finance director by Kagiso Trust Investments and CFO by the Development Bank of Southern Africa.

There have been several changes to the board. Norman Mbazima, deputy chairman of Anglo American South Africa, will retire from the board when he retires from Anglo American in June. Nick Holland, a long-standing board member, will be replaced by Martin Preece, executive vice-president: South Africa at Gold Fields.

Roger Baxter, CEO of the Mineral Council says, “On behalf of the Minerals Council and its members, I extend our sincere gratitude to the office bearers and board members who have given so much of their time to help guide the Minerals Council in its activities during the year. I would like to pay tribute to the Board of the Minerals Council, in particular our president, Mxolisi Mgojo and vice-presidents, Steve Phiri, Neal Froneman and Andile Sangqu, for their continued guidance and counsel. And we thank the outgoing board members for their contributions over the years.

“We welcome the new members of the board, and Zanele Matlala in her new role as vice-president of the Minerals Council. The Minerals Council office bearers and board members play a pivotal role in leading and representing the mining industry. We are honoured to be represented by individuals of high standing with a wealth of experience and expertise and we look forward to their continued contribution towards making mining matter.

“Going forward, we will extend and reinforce our efforts in the year ahead, knowing full well that all stakeholders have a shared interest in creating a mining industry that is competitive, and prosperous, and delivers value to all its stakeholders.”